top of page
  • Writer's pictureCollaborative Page

An unexpected journey

If you are reading this you are starting an unexpected journey.


There is nothing positive to say about receiving difficult news about your child. It's heartbreaking, life changing and hard to digest. It feels like happiness is a thing of the past. I wanted to contribute to this collection of thoughts to say there is happiness ahead.


Before I had my daughter I would see people who had children with disabilities and say to myself how do they do it? Now it is my life and the smallest accomplishments warm my heart and bring a smile to my face. I watch my daughter smile with pride when she activates a toy, laughs at cartoons and is amused by her twin brother. She knows she is loved and that gives her strength.


In one of her therapy sessions the therapist told me a quote another mother told her. It was something like this: "I could have had the opportunity to find out, but I'm glad I didn't have the chance". I share the same view. There is a question some ask me and many I know want to ask. The answer is of course "I would do it again" knowing what I know and I am thankful every day.


I wish the same answer for you and my word of advice is never give up hope, ever. Good luck on your journey, I hope you find the love and happiness that I did. You are not alone.


Cheri.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page