top of page
  • Writer's pictureCollaborative Page

Hang in there

Updated: Feb 1, 2019

Dear Parents, I want to relate my experience in raising a “Special needs child” as a single parent. I hope that whatever I say may give you some insight or at least help encourage you to endure this difficult trial.

I first learned that my child may have a “problem” when, her daycare provider brought it to my attention. She was 1 1/2yrs old when I learned of this program called “Early Intervention”. At that point, about 4 or 5 different teachers came to my home for one month to evaluate her. I find out that she needed more help in a self –contained class where she would get more personal attention from her teachers.

Shortly, after I put my daughter in school, reality started to set in and the pain that was associated with it. It was very difficult for me to teach my child anything. This is because she had multiple delays in which she found it extremely hard to understand me and vice versa. I started getting to the point where I was frustrated and crying all the time saying why me? I was also comparing her with other children in which, was very selfish of me because I was really hurting inside and could not come to terms with what I have to deal with. As the years went on, my daughter continued to be evaluated and attend “special needs” schools. She is now 15 years old and have gotten better but, she still have a long road ahead of her.


Parents, I know that having a child with disabilities is shocking and changes your lives but, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. As you and your child continue to work along with other professionals, you will be able to cope and see changes, some big some subtle.

Staying positive and hopeful is what continues to help me. There are also resources out there that your child is entitled to. Please seek it out! This will certainly help take the burden off of you and help your child. Lastly, talk to other parents. Encourage and be Encouraged by their ideas. Remember, as long as your child is happy and healthy, that is all that matters. Hang in There!


Takira.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page